Old Fort Erie

Address: 350 Lakeshore Rd., Fort Erie, ON.
Tel: 905-871-0540

Step back in time and experience what life was like during the War of 1812 at Old Fort Erie. This historic fort has been restored to the 1812-1814 period when it saw battle during the War of 1812. The Fort is an impressive structure with drawbridge, bastions and guns that are typical of 19th century garrisons. Knowledgeable guides in period costumes provide visitors with interesting information about the war and life at this British Garrison. There is also historical artifacts on display from the War of 1812, including equipment used by the British and American armies.

The original fort was built in 1764, and was the first fort to be built in the Niagara region by the British. This fort was severely damaged by ice during several and was eventually destroyed.

A second fort was constructed in 1804 and was unfinished when the United States declared war on Britain, and subsequently Canada during. The fort saw much action during the War of 1812. It was captured by American troops in 1813 for a short period, until British troops regained it in December of 1813. In July of 1814 it was captured once again by American troops who expanded it and used it as a supply base. After losing two battles American troops retreated to the safety of Fort Erie. British troops attempted to recapture the fort but were unsuccessful with losses of over 1000 men. The US held the fort until November 5th of 1814, when they withdrew to Buffalo having learned that the eastern seaboard of the US was under attack. As they withdrew they burned and destroyed Fort Erie. It was eventually fully restored in 1937 by the Niagara Parks Commission.

If in the area during the second weekend of August you won’t want to miss the battle reenactments where hundreds of volunteers reenact the siege of Fort Erie.

Open from May through to September.