Fort George National Historic Site of Canada

Address: Niagara Parkway, Niagara-on-the-Lake
Tel: 905-468-6614
Hours of Operation: Open 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, seven days a week, April – October.

Fort George played a vital role during the war of 1812, serving as the headquarters for the Centre Division of the British army. It was constructed by the British between1796 and 1799 to defend Upper Canada from the Americans. Fort George was built to replace Fort Niagara which was taken by the United States after the American Revolution. During the War of 1812 the fort was captured by US troops, was burned and destroyed in May 1813. In 1937 the Niagara Parks Commission set out to restore the fort, and it was fully restored and furnished by 1950, using period pieces to recreate its original appearance. Visitors can tour the Fort, seeing the Soldiers Barracks, where the soldiers lived with their wives and children, and the Officers Quarters where high ranking officers once lived. Visitors can also tour the oldest building in Niagara-on-the-Lake, the stone powder magazine where gunpowder was once stored. From April 1st to October 31st knowledgeable staff dressed in period costume welcome visitors as they re-enact daily life at the Fort. Visitors who are in the area on Canada Day, July 1st, can be a part of history as the battles of the War of 1812 are re-enacted at the fort by volunteers in period costume. The Fort is said to be haunted, and ghost tours are scheduled during the evenings, each week from May through August. For more information contact 905-468-6614.